Home › Adoption Costs

Pet adoption costs by county

What public animal shelters charge to adopt a dog or cat, and what the fee includes. 32 shelters, verified 2026-10-04.

These are pet adoption fees at public animal shelters (dogs, cats and small animals), copied from each shelter's official page. Fees change with promotions; each county page links the source.

Pick a state

Compare shelter adoption fees

CountyShelterDogs & puppiesCats & kittensSpay/neuter incl.
Los Angeles County, CALA County Animal Care Centers$50$50Yes
San Diego County, CASan Diego County Department of Animal Services$85–$150$75–$100Yes
Riverside County, CARiverside County Department of Animal Services$105$25–$65Yes
Kern County, CAKern County Animal Services$75–$85$40–$50Yes
Maricopa County, AZMaricopa County Animal Care & Control$25–$300$50–$200Yes
Pima County, AZPima Animal Care Center – Eastside Adoption Centerfreefree–$50Yes
Harris County, TXHarris County Pets$20–$80$10–$35Yes
Travis County, TXAustin Animal Centerfree–$120free–$100Yes
Miami-Dade County, FLMiami-Dade Animal Services$65–$85$35Yes
Orange County, FLOrange County Animal Services$80$50Yes
Hillsborough County, FLHillsborough County Pet Resource Center$35–$125$20–$50Not stated
Lake County, FLLake County Animal Shelter$20$10Yes
Alachua County, FLAlachua County Animal Resources & Care$50$30Yes
King County, WARegional Animal Services of King County—$30–$100Yes
Wake County, NCWake County Animal Center$25–$95$5–$45Yes
Montgomery County, MDMontgomery County Animal Services & Adoption Center$75–$150free–$100Not stated
Anne Arundel County, MDAnne Arundel County Animal Care & Control$30–$40$20–$30Yes
Cook County, ILChicago Animal Care & Control$65$65Not stated
New York County, NYAnimal Care Centers of NYC (serves all five boroughs)$25–$250$25–$200Yes
Denver County, CODenver Animal Shelter$100–$170$65–$110Yes
Davidson County, TNMetro Nashville Animal Care and Control$90$40–$60Yes
Shelby County, TNMemphis Animal Services$50–$80$50–$80Yes
Jefferson County, KYLouisville Metro Animal Servicesfree–$150free–$100Not stated
Salt Lake County, UTSalt Lake County Animal Services$75–$200$50–$100Yes
Bernalillo County, NMAlbuquerque Animal Welfare$25–$30$25–$30Yes
Multnomah County, ORMultnomah County Animal Services$60–$300$30–$150Not stated
Hennepin County, MNMinneapolis Animal Care & Controlfree–$250free–$25Not stated
Fairfax County, VAFairfax County Animal Shelter$100–$200$50–$150Not stated
Fulton County, GAFulton County Animal Services$85$65Yes
Anchorage Municipality, AKAnchorage Animal Care and Control$72–$205$62–$195Not stated
Pulaski County, ARLittle Rock Animal Village$90$90—
Wayne County, MIDetroit Animal Care and ControlfreefreeNot stated

Ranges are the standard listed fees; seniors, long-stay pets and promotions are often lower. Checked 2026-10-04.

How we get this data

Every fee, rule and listing here comes from an official source (a statute, court, agency, county or shelter website) and links to it. If a place hasn't published a number online, we say so instead of estimating, show general state rules (labeled as general), point you to the closest place with verified data and give you the office to call.

We have verified shelter fees in 21 states so far. Every state and county page still works: where a shelter hasn't published its fees online, the page shows general fee ranges from the shelters we did verify (labeled as general), the closest shelter with verified fees and how to reach your local animal services.

Found something out of date? Tell us.